Spending moxy, on opposed checks and determining MOS.

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
thezombiekat thezombiekat's picture
Spending moxy, on opposed checks and determining MOS.
Spending moxy, on opposed checks and determining MOS. The second of my moxy related threads. The rules listed for spending moxy on skill tests work well for a strait skill test against a target number but leave me with a couple of questions when it is not enough to simply succeed. In all examples all parties are rolling against skill 50 with no modifiers. 1) 0pposed roll A roles 45 party B roles 91 spends moxy to become 19, I believe they count as succeeding but still lose the opposed roll (would be no help in combat) 2) Opposed roll A rolls 22 B rolls 45 spends moxy to get crit, I am les curtain than in 1 but think B wins. 2a) Opposed roll A rolls 22 B rolls 15 spends moxy to get crit, I am les curtain than in 1 but think A wins. 3) Opposed roll A rolls 45 B rolls 20 spends moxy to get crit, B wins with the benefits of a crit , don’t know if B still benefits from MOS 30 (EG if was attack bypass armour and get +5 damage) how good are my interpretations.
Justin Alexander Justin Alexander's picture
You are correct in all cases.
You are correct in all cases. 1) Even after applying moxie, 19 is a lower MoS than 45 and therefore A fails the opposed test. 2) Before applying the moxie, the B's MoS of 45 beats 22. After applying moxie, that remains true and B also benefits from a critical success. 3) Before applying the moxie, B's MoS of 15 loses to 22. After applying moxie, however, B benefits from a critical success and critical successes trump normal successes in opposed tests. The key in all cases is to apply the moxie to change the outcome and then ignore the original outcome. The original outcome no longer exists. Focus only on the new reality that was created by the use of moxie. However, I'm not sure exactly what you mean by "B still benefits from MOS 30". The margin of success in this scenario would still be 20 (the result of the die roll) and the margin of success has nothing to do with the fact that a critical success on an attack test bypasses armor.