Here's a log of a friend and I talking about the skills/chargen rules. I guess we figured it out, but the section could be a little more clear? [collapse]
[/collapse] (08:04:34 PM) Friend: Cool. Did you check my char sheet? (08:04:34 PM) Me: Derek is pretty much the last one, I think. (08:04:47 PM) Friend: (Also, I posted a cgen question on the boards.) (08:05:38 PM) Me: Sheet looks good. (08:06:00 PM) Me: You've got a small detail wrong. (08:06:05 PM) Me: Skills start at 0. (08:06:13 PM) Friend: The book says they start at the attribute level? (08:06:44 PM) Me: I think it just means you add the aptitude skill in during the check. (08:06:45 PM) Friend: Yeah. Right here: (08:07:06 PM) Friend: Keep in mind that learned skills start at the rating of the linked aptitude. (08:07:17 PM) Friend: For example, if you want to raise a skill to 30 and the skill's linked apttiude is 10, you'll need to spend 20 CP. (08:07:22 PM) Friend: P. 136 (08:07:34 PM) Me: Yeah, but technically they start at zero. (08:07:36 PM) Friend: I gotta figure out about how Morph aptitude bonuses are figured in. (08:07:57 PM) Me: Example: You spend 20 CP on Blades, you have Somatics 20. (08:07:57 PM) Friend: I guess it doesn't technically matter either way. (08:08:04 PM) Friend: Right, so then you have 40 Blades. (08:08:15 PM) Friend: I think the only difference is: You can't go over 60 for only 1 CP. (08:08:26 PM) Me: Anyways the answer is yes. (08:08:30 PM) Friend: Ie: If you have 30 Somatics, you can spend 30 CP on Blades before it costs more. (08:08:41 PM) Friend: If you want to bring Blades to 70, it'll cost 50 CP. (08:08:47 PM) Me: The reason why I say skills start at zero is that way you know that total Aptitude and Total skill get added together for Total level. (08:08:48 PM) Friend: I think that's the only difference. (08:09:29 PM) Me: (A1 + A2 + A3) + (B1 + B2 + B3) + C = D (08:09:33 PM) Me: A = Aptitude shit (08:09:37 PM) Me: B = Skill crap (08:09:39 PM) Me: C = Mods (08:09:42 PM) Me: D = Total (08:09:50 PM) Friend: Hmmm. (08:10:01 PM) Friend: Let me ask you a question. (08:10:04 PM) Me: So your morph bonuses would be A2 (08:10:10 PM) Friend: If I want 80 CP in Blades. And my SOM is 30. (08:10:30 PM) Friend: Does it cost 50 CP, or 70 CP? (08:10:57 PM) Me: 70. (08:11:04 PM) Friend: Ok. So we're on the same page, then. (08:11:06 PM) Me: The cost modifiers are based on the output score. (08:11:17 PM) Friend: But morphs are calculated in C, not in A, correct? (08:11:29 PM) Friend: Ie: My Morph gives me +10 to SOM, that doesn't increase the cost. (08:11:50 PM) Me: No, since you should have spent skill CP already. (08:11:53 PM) Friend: Ok, fab. (08:12:13 PM) Friend: So if my Intimidation is 70, and then I get an Olympian Morph and add +5 to Savvy, my Intimidation is now 75.