Ok, I realize this was touched on in the Character creation thread, but after reading the book I actually have several questions about this. (at least it's intent) All of these questions are phrased regarding the minimum 300 Knowledge points, but apply to the 400 minimum practical points as well.
Does the 300 point minimum for skills mean you must SPEND 300 CP points, or that you must HAVE 300 skill points when it's when you finish spending?
(this was answered in another thread, but I'm restating it here for completeness)
The answer I have heard is: you must have 300 skill points when you finish spending
When you start buying points in a new skill your aptitude is immediately added to your score. Does this count towards your 300 point minimum? For instance if I make a character with Soc: 25 and then put 5 CP into networking:@ that gives me a networking:@ score of 30. Have I fulfilled 30 of my 300 minimum skill points, or have I only fulfilled 5 of them?
Do skills that come as part of your background/faction template count towards your 300 point minimum? I.E. if I make an Argonaut and take +10 to Profession: chef & +10 to Academic:Biology does that get me 20 of my 300 minimum skills? Does my 70 points in native language count as 70 of my 300 minimum?
So there is a skill point max of 60 @ 1 CP and a hard cap of 80 (during character creation). It appears that the primary use for aptitudes is to raise the starting score for skills, but it doesn't allow characters to exceed either of these barriers. Is this the case?
More simply put: Ego based aptitudes do not let the character exceed 80 Points during character creation, correct?
Regarding Question #4: Basically an aptitude point seems to me to be worth roughly 1 CP per skill that the character actually uses it in. That makes it seem to me like 10 CP per is quite steep. Do they have another major advantage I haven't quite figured out?
It appears from the sample character sheets that aptitude bonuses from your morph are able to break through the 60 pt / 80 pt cap. Is this the case?
If a character wants to start off with more than one morph (Either spares on ice or running as forks) should they be bought with CP, Credits, or a Mix @ the players choice. If they are bought with cash should they cost the (3/4/50,000+) number listed next to the "expensive" Price for the morph?
I think it's pretty self evident that this game is EXCELLENT. If it doesn't go without saying I'm picking through all the fine details because I love this game and couldn't put the PDF down, not to be critical. I also tend to run for/with a pack of munchkins and have a compulsive need to find every hole in the rules, and overly powerful lever.